Gorgeous little hotel in the heart of Bamburgh

Gorgeous little hotel in the heart of Bamburgh. Stayed here twice, both times were highly delighted with the cleanliness, service and food.

Helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere, and a open fire. excellent.

Just a stone throw from the Castle and beach, a couple of very nice pubs on its doorstep.

Stayed November 2014, travelled as a couple

‘John S′ (Tripadvisor username).
No location info

Review from Tripadvisor, 31/01/2015.

Very enjoyable stay

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Sunningdale this weekend to celebrate my 50th birthday.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful, we had been upgraded but unfortunately our old dog could not climb the stairs however we were quickly put into a ground floor room. The room was pleasant and spacious.

We ate in the hotel the meal was excellent. The breakfasts are very good too. We must mention the waitress who worked all weekend . She was so pleasant and helpful and nothing was any trouble to her.

We will definately return to stay here. The hotel is in a very convenient position and just minutes walk to the beach and the castle.

Stayed November 2014, travelled as a couple

‘fionag43′ (Tripadvisor username).
No location info

Review from Tripadvisor, 09/11/2014.

Very good holiday

(+) The bedroom was very light and comfortable the meals were very good staff very helpful and friendly we had a very good holiday.

(-) There was nothing we did not like.

Marked 10/10 on booking.com

Penny (UK) – 4/09/2014.

Short stay in Bamburgh

(+) Ideal short stay, good value for money, clean comfortable accommodation, friendly staff and management, a good night’s sleep and good breakfast.

(-) Could be a bit congested getting cereal, drinks etc. at breakfast time, but this is a minor comment versus all of the positives.

Marked 8.3/10 on booking.com

John (UK) – 16/08/2014.

Friendly Warm Welcome

We visited the Sunningdale again this year, it is now my 14th visit in as many years.

Paul gave us a warm welcome and as ever the food and service were brilliant.

I stayed in Room 20 again, which is the deluxe room with the front bay window. The bed is delightfully comfy and the breakfast was a fantastic way to wake up and begin the day.

The Sunningdale is perfectly located for visiting the castles in the area, Bamburgh hotel, Lindisfarne and Alnwick to name a few, for walking in the Northumberland National Park and for visiting the Farne Islands.

Can’t wait to visit again next year!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family

‘lifesabeach1000’ (Tripadvisor username).
Leeds, Yorkshire

Review from Tripadvisor, 12/08/2014.

(Stayed at the same time as one of our well behaved school trips).

A Faultless Experience

The Oats Family

The Oats Family

The Sunningdale Hotel makes our family’s holidays so so so special we love it!

We visit 2-3 times a year to this very hotel. The food is impeccable the rooms are great and the staff are the friendliest you’ll ever meet.

We feel its reasonably priced and provides the perfect base for your visit to glorious location of Bamburgh.

Its just a short 5 min walk from the beach but not next to a busy road. Perfect! And we advise anyone to go there!

The Oats Family
Leeds, Yorkshire

Review from Tripadvisor, 05/08/2011.

Beautiful surroundings, warm welcome

I stayed here with a group of friends on a retreat. The rooms were clean, tidy and had super views.

The food in the restaurant was delicious! I had the best Baileys cheescake I have ever tasted.

We spent happy evenings in the bar area being extremely well tended to by the efficient and welcoming staff. I would definately recommend this hotel and would visit again for rest, relaxation and good service.

The area is so peaceful and only a short stroll down to the beach. The village is quaint and quiet with plenty of charm and local pubs.

We had a fantastic stay in Bamburgh. Thank you.

Miss Marigold
Burnley, Lancs.

Review from Tripadvisor, 29/07/2011